God Moves

I’ve been silent on the blog these last couple of days not because there wasn’t much to say. (I just couldn’t bring myself to share them with you.) I’ve been wrestling with God. Have you ever done that? Asking the very same questions you have been asking? Why? Why me? How am I going to get through this? Am I going to get through this? And a few other personal questions. I share this not to get your sympathy. But I hope this will be a strength to you as you go through difficult times.

I’ve been thinking of and praying for my fellow worship team member, Donna. Donna has begun her chemo treatments. Keep her in your prayers as you pray. We love you Donna. Hang in there! 🙂

Here is an old hymn that was sent to me yesterday. Read it aloud and let it soak into your life fabric. I must say the phrase, “The clouds ye so much dread” is right were I am. But note the phrases that follow it and you will find encouragement as I did. Enjoy!

“God Moves in a Mysterious Way”

God moves in a mysterious way
His wonders to perform;
He plants His footsteps in the sea
And rides upon the storm.

Deep in unfathomable mines
Of never failing skill
He treasures up His bright designs
And works His sovereign will.

Ye fearful saints, fresh courage take;
The clouds ye so much dread
Are big with mercy and shall break
In blessings on your head.

Judge not the Lord by feeble sense,
But trust Him for His grace;
Behind a frowning providence
He hides a smiling face.

His purposes will ripen fast,
Unfolding every hour;
The bud may have a bitter taste,
But sweet will be the flower.

Blind unbelief is sure to err
And scan His work in vain;
God is His own interpreter,
And He will make it plain.

—William Cowper (pronounced “Coo-per”)

5 Responses to God Moves

  1. Les says:

    uncle dean,

    the lyrics in this hymn are so profound! wow, i really needed that message in my own life. this blog entry is overwhelmingly encouraging to me! the meaning behind these words just penetrate straight to my very soul. it’s so easy to forget how sovereign God truly is! i tend to get so wrapped up in my life that i trivialize God’s plan and the bigger picture. doesn’t it just feel so great to cast your cares upon the Lord and know that His yoke is easy. there is so much peace in that. not that you don’t stop feeling…i mean, joy in the Lord is our strength, and joy doesn’t mean you have to be all smiley and happy. hehe! 🙂 uncle dean, i know you’re not looking for sympathy, so i’ll bypass that, and just give you my love! big hug. hang in there. i’m praying for you even now. love you!

    les

  2. Stephen Hill says:

    Dean,
    Happy to hear you are doing better. I think of you often.
    Stephen Hill

  3. Joe Andrew says:

    Uncle Dean:

    Your courage and devotion to God has been a witness for all of us. The close walk you share with God is the witness that God wanted us to see. God did not promise we would not have bumps and problems in our lives as we walk daily with Him but that ETERNAL LIFE WAS THE PROMISE! I know where the questions come from. I remember when I became a diabetic and wondered why. But God expects us to live well regardless of our afflections and to always glorify Him in everything even the tough things. You know I am an emotional guy and I can hardly hold my emotions back now as I write this entry but God knows our needs and will meet them which will in turn glorify Him. There is nothing wrong in asking why. It is the only way one can receive an answer sometimes. I bring you before God often every day my Brother and I pray that God will work His plan in a way that all who love you and are close to you will see, understand and receive a blessing through your suffering. I can only ponder the valley you have been through. God told us that even thought we walk by the valley of the shadow of death fear not for I am with you. Remember I Am called you to ministry and is continually using you and your witness. I love you Dean.

    Uncle Joe

  4. Debi says:

    Hi Dean,

    What an awesome entry. It touched my heart as well. I needed that encouragement as I contemplate you and your family’s situation and as we miss Ben big much already. Camp was a bit trying this week with unexpected turns and twists. But I thank the Lord every day for people that He sends in our lives at just the right moment. Mrs. Gay Ann was here this week and she always is an encouragment and strength to me. Tears are always so close these days and our awesome God is the ONLY way that we have the strength we need. Please have a family group hug for us. Wishing we could be there in person.

    Debi

  5. Dean says:

    Thank you all for your words of encouragement and especially the prayers. God has been teaching me so much these days it is overwhelming at times. Mostly, though, He gives such a peace.

    Trusting God Everyday – Dean

Leave a Reply

